Commencement | May 3, 2013


Watch the 2013 commencement ceremony on Friday, May 3.  

Congratulations graduates of 2012-2013 school year. The 23rd annual Commencement on Friday, May 3 was a joyous time for students and their families and friends. We commend all graduates on the completion of their educational goals and wish them success in their future personal and professional endeavors.

This year's commencement speaker for both ceremonies was Joseph Henry, chair of the Advisory Board at Penn State Great Valley and former vice president of corporate planning and support services at Independence Blue Cross in Philadelphia. Speakers representing the students were Birgit U. Reiff (management) and Tracey A. Mahoney (engineering/education).

Faculty awards were presented to the following:
Teaching Excellence, Part-time Faculty: Cyndy Walton, management
Teaching Excellence, Full-time Faculty: Kathyrn Jablokow, engineering
Research and Scholarship: John Sosik, management
Early Career Research Award: Sagnika Sen, management

Student awards were presented to the following:
Outstanding student achievement awards
Curriculum and Instruction: Gina M. Padula
Instructional Systems: William P. Wentz
Special Education: Lauren E. Janyszek
Systems Engineering: Matthew R. Ordway
Information Science: Nicholas R. Spisak
Software Engineering: Casey Leonard
Engineering Management: Keith W. Lynn
Business Administration: Miguel M. Vemba
Finance: Mesut Turkay
Leadership Development: Birgit U. Reiff
Best Master's Research Paper in Engineering: Matthew R. Ordway

Beta Gamma Sigma International Honor Society Inductees 2012-2013
In recognition of their outstanding scholastic record, business students, who are in the top 20 percent of master's students, are invited to join the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International. The following are this year's inductees:

Francis Adams
Bonnie Castello
Steve Dripps
Brett Lloyd
Jenna Freas
Nathan Gaul
Carl Gydosh
Brian Kelley
Maggie Immel
Lauren McIlwain
Birgit Reiff
Michael Shertok
Zachary Topka
Robert Westwood